-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vive l'ordinateur!

Ahhhhhh back in the world of computers and the interweb! After my hard drive died last week, I nearly did too... especially when I realised that all of my photos are now in oblivion. That is what I care most about, as many of them are photos of people and places I may never see again; almost everything else (letters, etc.) was backed up. Though strictly speaking, my photos aren't in oblivion; they are still on the hard drive. But the hard drive is broken and inaccessible, so I will have to wait until I can afford to send it to California, where a company will charge me close to 2000$US to extract my data for me. So it is sitting on my shelf, patiently waiting, and I have a new hard drive (upgraded to 120GB, which cost less than I was expecting!), and I have managed to recover a small fraction of my photos: some I had burned to disc, some I had shared with others. If you are reading this, and I have at any point in the last six months shared photos with you, please let me know, and I will give you a disc if you would be so kind as to share them back.

One thing about which I am extremely relieved: my contacts and calendar were on my iPod, and I was able at least to import all that back onto my computer. You have no idea how long it would have taken me to manually re-enter all that information...

Too bad, though, I can't import music from my iPod; I guess they don't want us backing up our music in addition to everything everything else. That's okay, I can get most of it back. Mark J tells me that there is a way for iTunes to know what I've already downloaded and to re-download it. Does anyone know how to do this? Again, please e-mail me if you do.

Anyway, I have been reinstalling and re-downloading everything; I am almost back to where I was! (Except for my photos...) And here it is Friday evening and I have all this time to update my blog thingy, and then go home and eat and knit and possibly even- gasp!- go out later! I know, it's crazy. But you know, sometimes you just hafta do crazy things. Especially when your best guy has left town for the weekend to go skiing and you can't because you couldn't get rid of that damn shift so what's a girl to do all alone on a Friday night? Um, well actually my preferred activity is to stay at home and read. Let's not pretend anymore: that is probably what I will end up doing.

Yay!

4:49 p.m. - 2007-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

spindle
squidgyheads
annabeth