-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

after a seven-month hiatus

Since I haven't written in a long time, and since I've been reading other people's blogs and feeling blog-ish, and since I am generally looking for ways to procrastinate, I will write now.

The last time I wrote, I was on a plane back to Edmonton from familial visiting in Ottawa. That was in August, now it is March, and tomorrow is the first day of spring. Maybe I will get to wear my new spring coat! Or maybe winter will insist on maintaining its frigid grip on earth, air, sea and sky. Soon, though, all the snow and ice will be gone and I can ride my purple bike! It needs some brake work, but now that I keep my bikes in the house (more on that later), I am actually likely to do maintenance and repair! And perhaps I will re-spoke the rear wheel on my blue bike (still in the garage but locked up upstairs) or just chuck the cheap wheels (rims dent, spokes snap) and get some good ones. We'll see.

Why, you ask, do I keep my bikes in the house? Because sometime in February, my beloved and trusty Marin, faithful companion of over eight years, was stolen from the garage. No, it was not locked up, and no, the garage doors do not lock, so I suppose it was only a matter of time. Oddly, they only took my Marin, nothing else. Also oddly, there was a pile of fecal matter (apparently canine) next to the door. Related? Probably not, but I like to think that that was the shithead's calling card. It makes me relish catching him/her and raising hell on him/her all the more.

Anyway, it's been reported to the cops; maybe something will come of it. If you see my bike, throw your own lock around it if you can, or in some way seize it of you can, and call me right away. There is still hope...

Year 1 of my MLIS is drawing to a close. It has been a shitload of work and somehow I have managed not to flunk out. Yet. There is still a lot to do this term and frankly I was a much better student last term and still barely managed to get all my poop in a group. This term I excel at sitting around drinking tea, reading books that have nowt to do with my classes, reading webcomix, stalking boys on Facebook, reorganising my bookshelves, disinfecting my countertops, sulking, thinking happy thoughts, thinking sad thoughts, thinking dirty thoughts, standing next to my wall furnace, eating cookies, and many other things which do not involve getting assignments done.

And then there is the whole applying-for-a-summer-job thing...

10:42 p.m. - 2009-03-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

spindle
squidgyheads
annabeth